Dapper Chimp Press logo – behind the scenes

by thatrogersguy

Dapper Chimp Press is a reality, less than two weeks after I decided to take the plunge and start a new imprint.  We’ll be appearing at the Cardiff Comic Expo this weekend, taking pre-orders for our first book which launches this Summer and giving out badges.  Badges that feature the Dapper Chimp logo, but how did the logo design come about?

It started off with my long time collaborator Azim Akberali, who also created the Orang Utan Comics logo (the previous imprint I created, which is now in the safe hands of Ian Sharman).  I let him know the imprint’s name and gave him my thoughts on the logo, along with copious amounts of reference materials which ranged from old medicine labels to stills from animated movies, vintage adverts and book illustrations.  Also these annoying notes:

A photo real chimp just with smart hair combed over to the side.
 
Or more illustrative winking chimp, with a bow tie and bowler hat.
 
Or with a monocle and cravat.
 
Something that screams dapper chimp. 
 
Also thinking the design should have an old fashioned medicine label feel. Something with a border and a quite ornate font. 
 
I can send some examples, I have something in my head but not sure I can explain it. 

This lead him to create these initial ideas:

 

Image

I gave him feedback and singled out the elements I liked the best, and this lead to a second iteration. 

Image

From here I made some font suggestions, and starting talking more about colour.  I’d also taken some sage advice from the Comics Experience workshop community along the way.  That lead us here:

Image

 At this point I was offered some additional assistance from one of my work colleagues Alex Hollowood, an experienced graphics and motion graphics designer. He took Azim’s excellent illustration work and, without my meddling interference, made it something classier and more adaptable.   

Image

The end result is an exceptional collaboration, and a mighty fine logo.  I can’t wait to see it on the banner and badges this weekend, and especially on the cover of our books further down the line. I have some very talented friends. 

 

Image

 

 

