London calling

by thatrogersguy

Last Saturday I spent the day at the London Super Comic Convention at the Excel Centre. Despite the early start needed to do the show in one day, I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I’ve previously been to the Excel for the MCM show, and it was really good to see a whole world of comics, rather than just a village on the outskirts of the rest of pop culture.  Although seeing so many cosplayers on the DLR and Tube did remind me of writing Issue 2 of The Interactives, which was inspired by the journey from Paddington to the Excel for an MCM show. On the pop culture front, fresh from the ridiculous Hugo Awards nonsense, Jonathan Ross was there, but rather than taking part in wrestling, as he was at Kapow! when I went there, he was at this event very much in his guise as a successful comic writer.  

The Hat Decides Comicbook Crappy Cardboard Cosplay Competition.

I got to spend some time with my old Orang Utan Comics colleagues, being at their booth for a while and signing copies of The Intergalactic Adventures of Zakk Ridley. Seeing that book in print, 8 years after I originally started shaping Ian’s plot into a comic script was extremely rewarding.  At this rate I’ll have more new books in print during 2014 than in any other year. I caught up with lots of old friends, far too many to mention here, although it was particularly good to see Si Spurrier for the first time in ages and to finally meet Glenn Moane and Magnus Aspli in person as well.  When I wasn’t catching up with people, I made good use of my time getting to speak to various editors about existing or future pitches and projects. I did manage to squeeze in one panel, which was IDW INVADES! which was in danger of being drowned out by the London Super Costume Competition (although I was pleased to hear my friend and uber talented colourist Yel Zamor came 3rd as Hypergirl).  Dave Gibbons joined Chris Ryall and Dirk Wood on the IDW panel to talk about the Watchmen Artefact Edition, and there were some very interesting audience questions about what else the publisher has on the horizon. 

Before I knew it my time was up, and I was hightailing it back across London to catch the train back to Cardiff. All in all a very productive and enjoyable day, here’s hoping I can make it back next year for the whole weekend.  I live in hope. 

Image

Yel Zamor is Hypergirl

 

